Jul 252018
 

Motivated learning

First of all, one might wonder if motivated learning is necessary at all. Is is not possible to learn without motivation? At least as far as short-term learning success is concerned, this question must be answered positively: it is possible to successfully learn without motivation. However, the empirical results from our “Zeitlast” (workload) studies also show that such a learning outcome without motivation is usually accompanied by a greater perceived effort and a higher objective time requirement. It may also be assumed that the acquired knowledge content is less accessible – in particular, that the transfer to new situations is disrupted resulting in some inertia of the knowledge thus acquired.

Motivated Learning

Conversely, it can be inferred that motivated learning requires less personal effort, is more time-effective and the resulting knowledge is more universally applicable.

These advantages of motivated learning are directly related to the fact that intrinsic motivation is linked to the self-system “extension memory” already described in the blogpost 1 “Descartes’ Error“. The right hemispheric extension memory accompanies and enables the internalization processes necessary to perform a learning task with intrinsic motivation.

Here, the extension memory has a threefold function:

  1. It allows feeling the fit between learning tasks and the learner and thus creating a first internalization of the learning task. Subsequently, an ascription of responsibility for the learning task can be developed.
  2. The extension memory also accompanies the experience of self-efficacy. In particular, whether a particular learning method or learning strategy really suits you.
  3. In the actual performing of the learning action, the extension memory will assess whether I continue to feel comfortable with the concrete learning processes.

The activation of the extension memory in the learning process is thus the prerequisite for a holistic association of the self with all phases of the learning process. A large correspondence between the self and the learning regulation will trigger the effects of an intrinsic motivation:

  • Learning is easy and time flies by (flow experience).
  • Through a high degree of associations with the self-system many methods can be associated that can be used flexibly during the learning process.
  • A close connection with the self-system also enables a better self-motivation, which allows a constructive handling of setbacks and, if necessary, guarantees a longer study of the subject matter.
  • Finally, strong associations of the acquired knowledge with the self-system result in a more flexible retrieval of the knowledge content in different situations and thus promotes a high retention performance.

The next blog post will explain how a learning environment can be designed in such a way that the highest possible intrinsic motivation for learning can emerge (motivated design).

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed uner Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Jul 252018
 

Motiviertes Lernen

Als erstes könnte man sich fragen, ob motiviertes Lernen überhaupt notwendig ist. Ist es nicht ebenso möglich, ohne Motivation zu lernen? Zumindest was den kurzfristigen Lernerfolg angeht, muss diese Frage bejaht werden: es ist möglich, ohne Motivation erfolgreich zu lernen. Die empirischen Ergebnisse aus unseren Zeitlaststudien zeigen allerdings auch, dass solch ein Lernerfolg ohne Motivation fast immer mit einer größeren gefühlten Anstrengung und einem höheren objektiven Zeitbedarf einhergeht. Es kann außerdem angenommen werden, dass die angeeigneten Wissenshalte schlechter abgerufen werden können – insbesondere, dass der Transfer auf neue Situationen gestört ist und eine gewisse Trägheit des so erworbenen Wissens bedingt.

Motivated Learning

Es kann also umgekehrt geschlussfolgert werden, dass motiviertes Lernen weniger persönliche Anstrengung verlangt, zeiteffektiver ist und das resultierende Wissen universeller anwendbar ist.

Diese Vorteile des motivierten Lernens sind unmittelbar damit verknüpft, dass die Zustände der intrinsischen Motivation mit dem schon im Blogpost 1 „Descartes Fehler“ beschriebenen Selbstsystem „Extensionsgedächtnis“ verknüpft sind. Das rechtshemisphärische Extensionsgedächtnis begleitet und ermöglicht die Internalisierungsprozesse, die nötig sind, um eine Lernaufgabe mit einer intrinsischen Motivation durchzuführen.

Hier erfüllt das Extensionsgedächtnis drei Funktionen:

  1. Es ermöglicht das Gefühl der Passung zwischen Lernaufgabe und Lernendem und schafft so die Entwicklung einer Verantwortungsübernahme für die Lernaufgabe.
  2. Das Extensionsgedächtnis begleitet auch das Erleben von Selbstwirksamkeit. Insbesondere, ob eine bestimmte Lernmethode oder Lernstrategie wirklich zu einem selber passt.
  3. In der tatsächlichen Ausführung der Lernhandlung wird über das Extensionsgedächtnis wahrgenommen, ob ich mich selbst mit den konkreten Lernprozessen auch weiterhin wohlfühle.

Die Aktivierung des Extensionsgedächtnisses im Lernprozess ist also die Voraussetzung für eine holistische Verknüpfung des Selbst mit allen Phasen des Lernprozesses. Eine große Übereinstimmung des Selbst und der Lernregulation führt dann zu den Effekten einer intrinsischen Motivation:

  • Das Lernen fällt leicht und die Zeit vergeht wie im Flug (Flow-Erleben).
  • Durch eine hohe Vernetzung mit dem Selbstsystem können viele Lernmethoden assoziiert werden, die im Lernverlauf flexibel eingesetzt werden können.
  • Eine enge Verknüpfung mit dem Selbstsystem ermöglicht gleichzeitig eine bessere Selbstmotivierung, die einen konstruktiven Umgang mit Rückschlägen ermöglicht und ein – falls nötig – eine längere Beschäftigung mit dem Lernstoff garantiert.
  • Schließlich resultiert die stärkere Vernetzung der erworbenen Wissensinhalte mit dem Selbstsystem einen flexibleren Abruf der Wissensinhalte in ganz unterschiedlichen Anwendungssituationen und fördert damit eine hohe Behaltensleistung.

Im nächsten Blogpost soll dann erläutert werden, wie eine Lernumgebung so gestaltet werden kann, dass ein möglichst hohe intrinsische Motivation beim Lernen entstehen kann (Motivated Design).

Creative Commons Lizenzvertrag
Dieses Werk ist lizenziert unter einer Creative Commons Namensnennung – Nicht-kommerziell – Weitergabe unter gleichen Bedingungen 4.0 International Lizenz

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.