Nov 132019
 

Thinking in the Universe – Are there Intelligent Species in the Galaxy?

thinkint in the universe

Great Stars from Hubble. Photo by NASA.

In his book “Brief Answers to the Big Questions” in chapter three, Stephen Hawking raised the question of whether there can be intelligent living beings in the universe. My answer would be “yes” – there must be intelligent and thinking beings in the universe. But first the question has to be answered what thought processes are needed for – in general.

Thinking becomes necessary living in a changing environment. Through calculating or holistic thinking processes, changes can be anticipated and the chance of survival of a species can systematically be increased. And it can also be assumed that most environments in the universe will change.

Even at the quantum level it can be seen that location and impulse cannot be determined simultaneously. This unpredictability is already hidden in the micro level and probably continues onto the macro level. Conversely, it can be concluded that the unpredictability of many worlds in the universe increases the chance for thinking living beings. On a galactic scale, there should therefore be a multitude of beings who gain an advantage by thinking.

This of course raises the question why we haven’t been visited by extraterrestrials long ago. Stephen Hawking himself gives a possible answer: probably, the aggressive species have usually destroyed themselves, while the peaceful ones have no interest in reaching or destroying other habitable planets.

Read Offline:

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Nov 132019
 

Thinking in the Universe – Are there Intelligent Species in the Galaxy?

thinkint in the universe

Great Stars from Hubble. Photo by NASA.

Stephen Hawking hat in seinem Buch “Kurze Antworten auf große Fragen” in Kapitel drei die Frage aufgeworfen, ob es intelligente Lebewesen im Universum geben kann. Meine Antwort wäre “ja” – es muss intelligente und denkende Lebewesen im Universum geben. Vorher muss allerdings die Frage beantwortet werden, wozu Denkprozesse überhaupt und ganz generell gebraucht werden.

Denken wird dann notwendig für eine Lebensform, wenn sich sich in einer verändernden Umwelt auffällt. Durch berechnende oder holistische Denkprozesse können Veränderungen antizipiert werden und die Überlebenschance einer Spezies wird systematisch erhöht. Und es ist weiter davon auszugehen, dass die meisten Umwelten im Universum sich verändern.

Schon auf Quantenebene zeigt sich, das Ort und Impuls nicht gleichzeitig bestimmbar sind. Diese Unberechenbarkeit verbirgt sich also schon in der Mikroebene und setzt sich vermutlich auf der Makroebene fort. Es kann also umgekehrt geschlussfolgert werden, dass die Unberechenbarkeit vieler Welten im Universum, die Chance für denkende Lebewesen erhöht. Es müsste also im galaktischen Maßstab eine Vielzahl von Wesen geben, die sich durch Denken Vorteile verschaffen.

Dies wirft natürlich die Frage auf, warum wir nicht schon längst von Außerirdischen besucht worden sind. Eine mögliche Antwort gibt Stephen Hawking selber: vermutlich haben sich die aggressiven Spezies in der Regel selber vernichtet, während die friedlichen keine Interessen daran haben andere bewohnbare Planeten zu erreichen oder zu vernichten.

Read Offline:

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.